PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to COVID-19 virus, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Representing The Puget Sound Area For Nearly 30 Years

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Know the penalties for DUI in Washington

Know the penalties for DUI in Washington

On Behalf of | Mar 26, 2020 | Criminal Defense |

Motorists can receive a DUI charge in Washington if they are visibly intoxicated by drugs or alcohol and/or if they have blood alcohol content above 0.08%. For minors, the BAC threshold for driving under the influence is 0.02%, and commercial drivers can receive a DUI for BAC above 0.04%. 

If you face a DUI court date in Washington, understand the potential penalties for a conviction. 

First-time offense 

If you have no history of DUI within the past seven years, you may face the following penalties: 

  • At least one and up to 364 days in jail 
  • Fines of $350 to $5,000 
  • License suspension 

Offenders can opt to serve 90 days in a 24/7 drug and alcohol treatment program or 15 days on house arrest instead of the mandatory one day in jail. Drivers who either refuse to take a breath test at the scene of the arrest or who have a measured BAC above 0.15% must pay fines starting at $500 and serve either a minimum of two days in jail, 120 days in a sober living program or 30 days of house arrest. 

Second-time offense 

If you have one DUI already in the past seven years, the penalties for conviction may include the following: 

  • At least 30 days and up to 364 days in jail, or a minimum of four days in jail along with 120 days in a drug treatment program or 180 days on house arrest 
  • Fines of $500 to $5,000 
  • License suspension 
  • Seizure and sale of vehicle 

Elevated penalties for breath test refusal or BAC over 0.15% also include the following: 

  • At least 45 days and up to 364 days in jail, or a minimum of six days in jail along with 120 days in a drug treatment program or six months on house arrest 
  • Fines of $750 to $5,000 

Subsequent convictions within the same seven-year period result in extended penalties. This is also true for DUI convictions involving an underage passenger.